“Photography is communication – with those portrayed and with the viewer of my works. With a camera in my hand I am able to ask anything and to say everything. Photography is a way of experiencing the world and making this world visible.”

Bettina Flitner has occupied “a unique position in German photography scene for 25 years” (Photonews). Together with the testimonies of those portrayed in her pictures, her award-winning photographic works frequently give rise to intense debates.
Speaking in relation to her trilogy My Enemy – My Monument – My Heart (Mein Feind – Mein Herz – Mein Denkmal), Art historian Prof. Klaus Honnef said of the artist: “Since the beginning of the 1990s, she has infiltrated the art world and broken through its boundaries.”

FACE TO FACE
Bettina Flitner at the ‘Kunsträume’ of the Michael Horbach Foundation
– a broad retrospective with political essays by the artist –
January 18 until April 18, 2015

Opening Sunday, January 18, 2015, at 11.00
Curator Gérard A. Goodrow will give an introduction to mark the opening of the exhibition. The artist will be present.

‘Kunsträume’ of the Michael Horbach Foundation
Wormser Str. 23, 50677 Cologne
Wednesdays and Fridays 15.30 to 18.30, Sundays 11.00 to 14.00
Or by appointment: +49 (0)221 2999 3378

„Fotografie ist Kommunikation – mit den Porträtierten sowie mit den Betrachtern meiner Bilder. Mit der Kamera in der Hand kann ich alles fragen und alles sagen. Fotografieren ist eine Art die Welt zu erfahren und diese Welt sichtbar zu machen.“

Bettina Flitner besetzt „seit 25 Jahren eine singuläre Position in der deutschen Fotoszene“ (Photonews). Ihre vielfach preisgekrönten fotografischen Arbeiten zusammen mit den Aussagen der Porträtierten rufen immer wieder heftige Diskussionen hervor.
Kunsthistoriker Prof. Klaus Honnef schrieb anlässlich der Trilogie Mein Feind – Mein Herz – Mein Denkmal über die Künstlerin: „Seit Beginn der 1990er Jahre infiltriert sie den Kunstbetrieb und sprengt seine Grenzen.“

FACE TO FACE Bettina Flitner in den Kunsträumen der Michael Horbach Stiftung – eine breite Werkschau mit politischen Essays der Künstlerin –
18. Januar bis 18. April 2015

Eröffnung am Sonntag, dem 18. Januar 2015, 11 Uhr
Gérard A. Goodrow wird als Kurator der Ausstellung in die Präsentation einführen. Die Künstlerin ist anwesend.

Kunsträume der Michael Horbach Stiftung
Wormser Str. 23, 50677 Köln
Mittwoch und Freitag 15.30 bis 18.30 Uhr, Sonntag 11 bis 14 Uhr
Und nach Vereinbarung +49 (0)221 2999 3378