“The EUROPA LIGHT INSTALLATION is both a symbol and a statement in the public domain. EUROPA stands for the shared values of the European Community and a free society living in peaceful coexistence, and therefore represents all its achievements – even if they are often perceived unconsciously or as a matter of course.”

Caro Baumann and Johannes Schele, architects and project initiators

 

“Today, so much seems self-evident even when it clearly isn’t. Not too long ago, this place, this city, this land – the whole of Europe – lay in ruins. History is still palpable. For this reason, it is important to make statements that emanate a positive and affirmative message in support of Europe, like this light installation. Resembling a lighthouse, it serves as a figurative aid to navigation, guiding us through the darkness and symbolising hope.”

Lukas Feireiss, author, curator

 

Installation EUROPA at ST. AGNES, KÖNIG GALERIE
Alexandrinenstrasse 118-121, 10969 Berlin

The next EUROPA installation will be unveiled on May 07, 2017
Bühnenturm, Komische Oper, Behrenstrasse 55, 10117 Berlin

 

“We need a Europe whose citizens don’t operate as consumers, but as jointly responsible producers of the European project. So that Europeans see and accept this project as their own, it needs to be returned to them.”

Bernhard Schneider, A Soul For Europe

„Die EUROPA  LICHTINSTALLATION ist ein Zeichen und Statement im öffentlichen Raum. EUROPA steht für die gemeinsamen Werte der Europäischen Gemeinschaft, für eine freie Gesellschaft und friedliches Zusammenleben, mithin für alle Errungenschaften, die oft nur unbewusst oder als selbstverständlich wahrgenommen werden.”

Konzept und Initiative der Architekten Caro Baumann, Johannes Schele

 

„So viel erscheint heute als Selbstverständlichkeit, was schlichtweg keine ist. Vor nicht allzu langer Zeit lag dieser Ort, diese Stadt, dieses Land, lag Europa in Trümmern. Geschichte ist noch nah. – Es ist daher so wichtig Zeichen mit positiver Strahlkraft für Europa, wie diese Lichtinstallation, zu setzen. Einem Leuchtturm gleich, dient diese sinnbildlich der Orientierung in der Dunkelheit, weist den Weg und symbolisiert Hoffnung.“

Lukas Feireiss, Autor, Kurator

 

Installation EUROPA an ST. AGNES, KÖNIG GALERIE
Alexandrinenstrasse 118-121 in 10969 Berlin

Die nächste EUROPA Installation wird am Europatag, dem 09. Mai 2017 eröffnet.
Bühnenturm, Komische Oper, Behrenstrasse 55, 10117 Berlin

 

„Wir brauchen ein Europa, dessen Bürger sich nicht als Konsumenten verhalten, sondern als gemeinsam verantwortliche Produzenten des europäischen Projektes. Damit die Europäer dieses Projekt als ihr eigenes ansehen und annehmen, muss es wieder an sie übertragen werden.“

Bernhard Schneider, A Soul For Europe